Phineas Finn: The Irish Member [eBook]

Anthony Trollope

Stoc Limitat

Formate eBook

Vă mai recomandăm

He Knew He Was Right [eBook]

Anthony Trollope

0,00 MDL
War and Peace [eBook]

Leo Tolstoy

0,00 MDL
 The Ragged Trousered Philanthropists [eBook]

Robert Tressell

0,00 MDL
Castle Richmond [eBook]

Anthony Trollope

0,00 MDL


Though he rose to literary fame on the strength of his series of novels set in the fictional rural county of Barsetshire, Anthony Trollope's later works were more concerned with politics and social issues.

The novel Phineas Finn is the second in Trollope's series known as the Palliser novels, which focus on political intrigue and relationships among members of Parliament. This volume focuses on Phineas Finn, an immigrant from Ireland who runs for Parliament and, to most everyone's surprise, is successful in his bid. 


''This gracefully written work is perfectly read by Whitfield, who successfully evokes the Victorian era.'' -- Booklist

''The polished excitement that animates Whitfield's (aka Simon Vance) reading comes across richly and compels the listener's attention.'' -- AudioFile


About the Author

Anthony Trollope (1815-1882) started his writing career while working in Ireland as a postal surveyor. Travelling around the country, Trollope gained knowledge of the country and its people which proved to be useful material for his first two novels, The Macdermots of Ballycloran (1847) and The Kellys and the O'Kellys (1848). Trollope soon started writing fiercely, producing a series entitled Chronicles of Barsetshire.

The Warden, the first in the series, was published in 1855. Barchester Towers (1857), the comic masterpiece, Doctor Thorne (1858), Framley Parsonage (1861), The Small House at Allington (1864) and The Last Chronicle of Barset (1867) followed, portraying events in an imaginary English county of Barsetshire. In 1867, Trollope left the Post Office to run as a candidate for the Parliament. Having lost at the elections, Trollope focused on his writing.

A satire from his later writing, The Way We Live Now (1875) is often viewed as Trollope's major work, however, his popularity and writing reputation diminished at the later stage of his life. Anthony Trollope died in London in 1882. --This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

Mai multe informații

Limba: Engleză
Compatibil cu: iPhone, iPad, Android, Kindle
Dimensiunea Fișierului: 1-2 MB
Compatibil cu Kindle: Da