He Knew He Was Right [eBook]

Anthony Trollope

Stoc Limitat

Formate eBook

Vă mai recomandăm

War and Peace [eBook]

Leo Tolstoy

0,00 MDL
 The Ragged Trousered Philanthropists [eBook]

Robert Tressell

0,00 MDL
The Kreutzer Sonata and Other Stories [eBook]

Leo Tolstoy

0,00 MDL
Castle Richmond [eBook]

Anthony Trollope

0,00 MDL


The central theme of the novel is the sexual jealousy of Louis Trevelyan who unjustly accuses his wife Emily of a liaison with a friend of her father's. As his suspicion deepens into madness, Trollope gives us a profound psychological study in which Louis' obsessive delirium is comparable to the tormented figure of Othello, tragically flawed by self-deception.

Against the disintegration of the Trevelyans' marriage, a lively cast of characters explore the ideas of female emancipation and how to distinguish between obedience and subjection. Although himself no supporter of women's rights, in this novel some of Trollope's most spirited characters are single women.


”Novel by Anthony Trollope, published serially from 1868 to 1869, and in two volumes in 1869. It is the story of a wealthy, emotionally unstable husband and his unwarranted jealousy of his wife. Louis Trevelyan marries Emily Rowley, daughter of the governor of the Mandarin Islands. Upon the young couple's return to England, Trevelyan becomes increasingly jealous of attentions paid to Emily by an aging roue.

Trevelyan abducts their son and takes him to Italy, where Trevelyan suffers a complete emotional breakdown. Although a partial reconciliation takes place, Trevelyan dies shortly after his return to England.” -- The Merriam-Webster Encyclopedia of Literature

About the Author

Anthony Trollope (1815-1882) started his writing career while working in Ireland as a postal surveyor. Travelling around the country, Trollope gained knowledge of the country and its people which proved to be useful material for his first two novels, The Macdermots of Ballycloran (1847) and The Kellys and the O'Kellys (1848). Trollope soon started writing fiercely, producing a series entitled Chronicles of Barsetshire.

The Warden, the first in the series, was published in 1855. Barchester Towers (1857), the comic masterpiece, Doctor Thorne (1858), Framley Parsonage (1861), The Small House at Allington (1864) and The Last Chronicle of Barset (1867) followed, portraying events in an imaginary English county of Barsetshire. In 1867, Trollope left the Post Office to run as a candidate for the Parliament. Having lost at the elections, Trollope focused on his writing.

A satire from his later writing, The Way We Live Now (1875) is often viewed as Trollope's major work, however, his popularity and writing reputation diminished at the later stage of his life. Anthony Trollope died in London in 1882. --This text refers to an alternate Paperback edition.

Mai multe informații

Limba: Engleză
Compatibil cu: iPhone, iPad, Android, Kindle
Dimensiunea Fișierului: 1-2 MB
Compatibil cu Kindle: Da