Jacob's Room [eBook]

Virginia Woolf

Stoc Limitat

Formate eBook

Vă mai recomandăm

Ben-Hur: A Tale of the Christ [eBook]

Lew Wallace

0,00 MDL
Around the World in 80 Days [eBook]

Jules Verne

0,00 MDL
The Castle of Otranto: A Gothic Story [eBook]

Horace Walpole

0,00 MDL
Candide: or, Optimism [eBook]


0,00 MDL


"Jacob's Room" is the life story of the character Jacob Flanders, from his childhood through to his death in the first World War. Considered to be a highly experimental novel, Jacob's Room is a study in character development. Virginia Woolf, through the use of symbology, stream of consciousness, monologue and brief dialogues focuses her novel on the psychology of her characters instead of any specific plot or action of the story.

"Jacob's Room" is a critically acclaimed impressionistic work that focuses on the very meaning of life. 


”Impressionistic novel by Virginia Woolf, published in 1922. Experimental in form, it centers on the character of Jacob Flanders, a lonely young man unable to synthesize his love of classical culture with the chaotic reality of contemporary society, notably the turbulence of World War I. The novel is an examination of character development and the meaning of a life by means of a series of brief impressions and conversations, stream of consciousness, internal monologue, and Jacob's letters to his mother.
In zealous pursuit of classicism, Jacob studies the ancients at Cambridge and travels to Greece. He either idealizes or ignores the women who admire him. At the end of the novel all that remains of Jacob's life are scattered objects in an abandoned room.” --The Merriam-Webster Encyclopedia of Literature


About the Author

Adeline Virginia Woolf (born Jan. 25, 1882, London, Eng. - died March 28, 1941, near Rodmell, Sussex) British novelist and critic. Daughter of Leslie Stephen, she and her sister became the early nucleus of the Bloomsbury group. She married Leonard Woolf in 1912; in 1917 they founded the Hogarth Press. Her best novels - including Mrs. Dalloway (1925) and To the Lighthouse (1927) - are experimental; in them she examines the human experience of time, the indefinability of character, and external circumstances as they impinge on consciousness.

Orlando (1928) is a historical fantasy about a single character who experiences England from the Elizabethan era to the early 20th century, and The Waves (1931), perhaps her most radically experimental work, uses interior monologue and recurring images to trace the inner lives of six characters. Such works confirmed her place among the major figures of literary modernism. Her best critical studies are collected in The Common Reader (1925, 1932).

Her long essay A Room of One's Own (1929) addressed the status of women, and women artists in particular. Her other novels include Jacob's Room (1922), The Years (1937), and Between the Acts (1941). She also wrote a biography of Roger Fry. Her health and mental stability were delicate throughout her life; in a recurrence of mental illness, she drowned herself. Her diaries and correspondence have been published in several editions.

Mai multe informații

Limba: Engleză
Compatibil cu: iPhone, iPad, Android, Kindle
Dimensiunea Fișierului: 1-2 MB
Compatibil cu Kindle: Da